Ways of Being Here - Flash Fiction Competition

We aim to encourage excellence in creative writing within African-Australian writers  in an atmosphere of awarded competition. The contest is open to any writer of African heritage, residing in West Australia and who has had fewer than four stories/articles published in any format.

The judges will accept flash fiction ; that is, stories up to 1000 words that are centered on the theme:  Ways of Being Here.  

We would like our applicants to use their creativity to interpret the theme as they see fit so unfortunately we will not accept queries.  Submitting will be as easy as:

1)    Think up your story and type it up

2)    Make sure it is spell-checked and formatted in 12 font Arial in a Microsoft Word document

3)    Put your name, address and best contact number within your email 

4)    Email it to admin(at)centreforstories.com by July 25th and we will be in touch. 


If you don’t hear from us by August 15th , you can assume that your submission was not successful. 

Writers who are selected could win:   

  • Invaluable mentoring by an established West Australian writer
  • A creative space to write from at the Centre for Stories.
  • Help getting work published

Our Judges

Sisonke Msimang is a writer and activist who works on issues of money, power and sex. She has published extensively including in the New York Times, the Huffington Post, Newsweek, and the Guardian UK.  She has also received a range of fellowships from Yale University (2012); the Aspen Institute (2014) and University of Witswatersrand (2015). You can find her podcasts and stories @TheMoth and TEDxSoweto.   She is working on her first book; Always Another Country: how to find home.

Afeif Ismail is an internationally published poet and playwright from Sudan. His works have been translated into both German and Swedish. His achievements include winning the Naji Naaman’s Literary Prize 2015, 3 Seeds (3 short plays) presented by Always Working Artists at the Blue Room Theatre and The African Magician commissioned and produced by Barking Gecko Theatre Company and nominated for the Australian Writer’s Guild Award for Best Children’s Play in 2011.  International Playwright Observer at 2014 New Visions/New Voices Workshop and Festival, at John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Washington DC, USA. 

Caroline Wood is Founder and Director of the Centre for Stories and Margaret River Press.  She has held various communications, marketing and management positions at The University of Western Australia.  She was on the Board of Amnesty International Australia, and Augusta Margaret River Tourism Association.  She is the immediate past Chair of the Margaret River Readers and Writers Advisory Committee. She is a Board member of the Small Publisher Network that represents small publishers across the country.  

This project has been funded by the Western Australian Government through the Department of Culture and the Arts


Yassmin Abdel-Magied was the 2015 Queensland Young Australian of the Year.  Yassmin is a mechanical engineer, social advocate, writer and petrol head. She advocates for the empowerment of youth, women and those from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.  Yassmin is also deeply passionate about diversifying public voices, connecting people and catalysing change.At sixteen, Yassmin Abdel-Magied founded Youth Without Borders, an organisation focused on enabling young people to work for positive change in their communities.In 2012 she was named Young Leader in the Australian Financial Review and Westpac’s inaugural 100 Women of Influence Awards. Born in Sudan and moving to Australia at the age of two, she graduated top of her university year in 2011 with a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering (First Class Honours), and was a recipient of the University of Queensland’s Dean’s Excellence scholarship. In 2007, Yassmin was named Young Australian Muslim of the Year for her work in the community and in 2010 Young Queenslander of the Year. She serves on various state and federal councils and is currently works as an engineering specialist on oil and gas rigs. In her spare time, she enjoys reading, having a yarn, football (Liverpool FC!), Formula 1, boxing and is saving for her first V8.

Marisa Wikramanayake’s first book of short stories and poetry was published in 2000 and was shortlisted for Michael Ondaatje’s Gratiaen Award in 2001. She was 17 at the time. Since then she has worked as a freelance editor and writer and her flash fiction work was publishedSeizure Online. She has also edited Jane Rawson’s winning Viva La Novella 2014-15 manuscript Formaldehyde and served as an committee member of the Society of Editors (WA) Inc helping to organise and convene the 6th National IPEd Editors’ Conference 2013.  She currently serves as a member of Diverse Writers of Australia, a board member of the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance in WA and the short fiction, poetry and non-fiction contributor for the Australian Women Writers project.

Ken Spillman grew up in Perth and has been a full-time professional writer for most of his adult life. During 2008, Ken was a keynote speaker at the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference and a guest of the Tasmanian Writers Centre, the Mussoorie International Writers’ Festival, and the Delhi Children’s Literature Festival. Ken has received the following awards Western Australian Premier’s Book Award (Winner 1986, 2007)
Wilderness Society Environment Award (Shortlisted 2003), Western Australian Premier’s Book Award (Shortlisted 1994, 1998, 2000), The Australian Critics’ Top 5 (1997) and FAW National Literary Award (Winner 1986)

Susan Midalia is a writer and freelance editor who conducts workshops on short story writing. She grew up in the Western Australian wheatbelt, and has lived in Perth for most of her adult life. Her first short story collection, A History of the Beanbag and other stories, was shortlisted for the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards in 2007, and her second collection, An Unknown Sky and other stories (2012), was shortlisted for the 2013 Queensland Literary Award (Steele Rudd Award). Her latest release is Feet to the Stars and other stories (2015).  Susan studied at the University of Western Australia and Cambridge University and holds a PhD in contemporary Australian women’s fiction. She has also taught literature at secondary and tertiary levels over many years.

Laurie Steed is the Patricia Hackett Prize winning author of You Belong Here, and lives in Perth, Western Australia. His work has been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and published in Best Australian Stories, The Age, Meanjin, Westerly, Island, The Sleepers Almanac and elsewhere. He teaches Advanced Fiction for Writers Victoria and is a member of the Editorial Board of Margaret River Press. In 2014, he became the first Australian writer granted fellowship in the history of the Sozopol Fiction Seminars and, in May 2015, he was selected for The 2016 Bernheim Writers Residency in Kentucky, USA.

Nigel Gray, acclaimed for his honesty and his compassion as well as for the clarity and elegance of his work, is a multi award-winning author of extraordinary diversity. He has written books for children from pre-school age to Young Adult. For adults he has written novels, collections of stories, non-fiction, poetry, and memoir. He has had more than a hundred books published in twenty-six countries and twenty-four languages. As well as degrees from British universities, he has a PhD in Creative Writing from The University of Western Australia. Born in Ireland in 1941, He has lived in Kalamunda in Western Australia since 1988. He is a past President of the Western Australian Centre of International P.E.N.